2012 Winning - Fiber Related Category photo by
Ross Beed

 

Check us out on Facebook & Twitter!
Like Us On Facebook
Twitter

 

 

 

 

Fair History Info

The Mass Sheep and Woolcraft Fair began in 1974 with an idea presented at a potluck dinner at the home of Henry and Virginia Easterbrooks. The fair began as a spin off of a youth sheep judging contest. The main purpose was to have a statewide sheep show.  The fair has been held at the Cummington Fairgrounds every year except one.  As the fair grew areas associated with sheep were added; dog trials, vendors, sheep and fleece auctions, leadline and other fiber animals. As time has gone by, the lamb bits have become a signature food item, parking lots are full on both days, the fiber workshops are full of variety and people and the fair is still run largely on a volunteer basis.


Committee
MSWCF 2014 Committee Members 

Steering Committee Lisa Bertoldi, Aaron Loux, Shawn Thayer
Shows & Events Chair Lisa Bertoldi, bertoldi@crocker.com
Vendors Chair Aaron Loux, aaronshearing@gmail.com
Facilities Chair Shawn Thayer, sthayer@bcn.net
Secretary Debby Dane, debbydane@willinet.org

Emeritus Everything Launie York, yorkfarm@crocker.com
Website Roxanne Boyd, rbrownboyd@gmail.com
Advertising on Website Lisa Dachingerlisa@RareSheepWool.com
Brochure Cliff Thayer & Shawn Thayer
Show Secretary Scott Poitras, ppoitras@charter.net
Show Ring Superintendents Launie York
Rocky Poitras, rockyandpat@charter.net
Lesley Merritt, lamb61347@yahoo.com
Sheep Dog Trial

Denise Leonard, dleonard@schoolph.umass.edu
Martha Walke, walkem@sover.net
Wendy Warner, farmgirl4@hotmail.com
Kate Collins/George Northrop, George01368@yahoo.com



Children's Activities Sara H. Delaney, chickenbetty@gmail.com
Woolcraft Workshops Facebook
& Twitter
Sara H. Delaney, chickenbetty@gmail.com
Fiber/Spinning & Knitting Contests Barbara Westwood, blennoxwestwood@gmail.com
Handcraft & Handspun Contests Barbara Goodchild, ebgoodchild@hughes.net
Fleece to Shawl Susan Van Buren, svanb73275@aol.com
Fleece Show & Sale Kathryn (Kat) Parks, Kathryn.parks87@gmail.com
Leona Arthen, leonaarthen@gmail.com
Drop-in Spinning

Heather Baylis, BaylisFarm@gmail.com


Shearing Demos Aaron Loux, Cummington, MA, aaronshearing@gmail.com
Photography Contest Kim LaBlanc, kmlablanc@yahoo.com
Jason Moeck
Lead Line Pageant Cathy Niedziela, cathyniedziela@gmail.com
Trophies & Ribbons Janet Hukowicz, jhukowic@smith.edu 
Fair Info Booth Desiree DuBois, farmerdes@gmail.com
Publicity Marion Welch, welch@justamerefarm.com
Sara H. Delaney, chickenbetty@gmail.com
Lisa Bertoldi, bertoldi@crocker.com
Fair Photographer Ed Bourgeois, edbourgeois@gmail.com
Food Booth Western Mass 4-H Exchange Club
Carol Inman
inman300@comcast.net
Potluck Dinner Julie Meservey, breadrisin@aol.com
Ice Cream Social/Paper Products Lesley Merritt & Chip Hallet
Kiddie Ag Area

Jenny Atkins



Bathroom Police Alice Newth, newth@vasci.umass.edu
Trash Coordinator Chip Hallet & Brit Hallet/4-H Club
smudgesheeps@yahoo.com
Gate Keepers Pioneer Valley 4-H Young Shepherds
Campers/Tents (onsite) Fred Schauwecker


Contributing Members:

Cliff & Lorie Thayer
Anne Marie Chapdelaine (Charest), smallfryfarm@hotmail.com




 

 

Featured on Champion Drive.com  | www.championdrive.com
Web Design by Novel Designs  |  www.thenoveldesigns.com